Patanjali Yoga Sutras


Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras are added to the Web site.  Maharṣī Patanjali’s Yogaśāstras form the foundation of Yoga, which is now popular everywhere.  They succinctly summarize the science of Yoga in sūtra-form (aphorisms), which are easy to memorize.

  • Samadhi Pada (51 sutras): Samadhi refers to a blissful state where the yogi is absorbed into the One.   Maharṣī Patanjali provides an overview of the yogic context, while outlining its basic principles, goals, and processes in this pada, which contains the famous sutra ‘yogaścittavṛtti nirodhaḥ’ (1.2) which means that yoga is controlling chitta-vrittis (mental fields and patterns).
  • Sadhana Pada (55 sutras): Sadhana is the Sanskrit word for “practice” or “discipline”.  In this pada, Maharṣī Patanjali defines Ashtanga Yoga (eightfold yoga) as ‘yama-niyam-āsana-prāṇāyāma-pratyāhāra-dhāraṇā-dhyāna-samādhayoṣṭāvaṅgāni’ (2.28), in which yama, niyama, asana, pranayama, pratyahara, dharana, dhyana, samadhi form the eight limbs of yoga and describe each of them in great detail in this pada and the next one.
  • Vibhuti Pada (56 sutras): Vibhuti is the Sanskrit word for “power” or “manifestation”.  In this pada, Maharṣī continues defining the rest of the limbs of yoga in great detail and describes the powers associated with yoga sadhana.
  • Kaivalya Pada (34 sutras): Kaivalya refers to emancipation and liberation and used interchangeably with moksha (liberation), which is the goal of Yoga.

2 Responses to “Patanjali Yoga Sutras”

  1. madhu July 30, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    the pdf links are not working for downloading

    • Srinivas Vadrevu July 31, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

      Thanks so much madhu for reporting. The pdf links are fixed now.